My Search for a Free Blog on My Own Domain

Photo by Jess Bailey on Unsplash

My Search for a Free Blog on My Own Domain

·

3 min read

I don't blog much, but whenever I do, I've always used Tumblr. I love the platform's simplicity and its focus on images and multimedia. But recently, Tumblr announced that they would be disabling the ability to use custom domains. This was a major blow for me because I had always wanted to have my own domain name for my blog.

I wanted to talk about my new project Flooperman, so I started looking for other blogging platforms that would allow me to use a custom domain for free. I tried a few static site generators, including Hugo and 11ty. I found the process to be too complicated. I didn't want to have to use Git every time I wanted to publish a new post. I also wanted to be able to blog from my phone, and static site generators don't make that easy.

Then I discovered Hashnode. Hashnode is a blogging platform for developers, and it's perfect for me. It's simple to use, it allows me to use a custom domain for free, and I can blog from my phone.

Here are some of the things I love about Hashnode:

  • It's simple to use. I can create a new post in just a few clicks, and I can preview my post before I publish it.

  • It allows me to use a custom domain for free. I can point my domain to my Hashnode blog, and it will look like I'm hosting my blog on my own server.

  • I can blog from my phone. Hashnode has a mobile app that makes it easy to create and publish posts from my phone.

  • It's a great community for developers. I can connect with other developers on Hashnode, and I can learn from their posts.

If you're looking for a free blogging platform that allows you to use a custom domain, I highly recommend Hashnode. It's simple to use, it's powerful, and it's a great community.

Specifically about Hugo and 11ty:

  • Hugo is a static site generator that is known for its speed and performance. It is a popular choice for developers who want to create fast and lightweight websites.

  • 11ty is a newer static site generator that is gaining popularity. It is known for its flexibility and its ability to create dynamic websites.

I found both Hugo and 11ty to be powerful tools, but they were also quite complex. I didn't want to have to learn a lot of new technology just to start a blog. I also wanted to be able to blog from my phone, and neither Hugo nor 11ty made that easy.

That's why I decided to try Hashnode. It's a simpler platform that is still powerful enough to meet my needs. I can create and publish posts from my phone, and I can use my own domain name. I'm very happy with Hashnode, and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a simple and powerful blogging platform.